Chapel Disentis Sedrun
Chapel of St. Lawrence and St. Sebastian, Laus


Description
The chapel is oriented to the east and has a flat-closed chancel, vaulted with a barrel ceiling. The nave is covered with a plaster barrel-vaulted ceiling. The chapel has a gabled roof with a bell tower crowned by an octagonal spire. The longitudinal walls are divided inside and out by blind arches. The facade features the years 1592 and 1695.
The chapel in Laus has three altars. These wooden altars were created around 1695, during the time of the new construction. The altarpiece of the high altar depicts the two patron saints, Lawrence and Sebastian, alongside St. Francis. The two side altars feature, on the right, an image of St. Lucius (who converted as the King of Britain and later served as the first missionary in Rhaetia) and Florinus (a local saint), and on the left, the altar of the Madonna (Queen of Angels). Today, the altar again features a dressed Madonna with Child. The cornices, windows, and chancel arch are decorated. On the chancel arch, the Annunciation is depicted, and in the chancel vault, there is an image of the Madonna surrounded by the four Evangelists.
Map
Chapel of St. Lawrence and St. Sebastian, Laus
Responsible for this content: Surselva Tourism.

This website uses technology and content from the Outdooractive platform.